Nominating Committee

Annual Report 2023-2024

MANDATE

The mandate of the Nominating Committee is to review the applications of all eligible candidates for committees.

The goal of the NSTU is that committee appointments accurately reflect the diversity of the membership.

Membership

The Nominating Committee for 2023-24 consisted of Duncan Cameron, Chair, Phillip Samson, Taunya Pynn Crowe, Vera Ryan, Myla Borden, Steve Brooks and Ryan Lutes.

MEETINGS/RECOMMENDATIONS

The Committee reported to the following Provincial Executive meetings:

September 2023	 Selected members to fill vacancies on the following committees: Comité De Programmation Acadienne, Pension and Political Action and Professional Associations Coordination committee Selected 1 member to serve on the on the Ad Hoc Committee on NSTU Governance Selected 2 members to serve on the Ad Hoc Committee on Union/Rep Engagement Selected 5 members as delegates to the NSFL Biennial Convention
October 2023	 Selected members to fill vacancies on the following committees: Political Action Selected 3 members to serve on the Ad Hoc Committee on Union/Rep Engagement Selected a member to serve on the Professional Association Coordination Committee with a term to expire in 2024 Selected a member to serve as Chair of the Political Action Committee for the 2023-2024 school year
December 2023	Selected members to be forwarded to the NS Federation of Labour as the NSTUs nominees for NSFL Committees
January2024	 Selected a member to serve as Chair of the Health and Safety Committee Selected a member to complete a one-year term on the Health and Safety Committee

At its May 31, 2024 meeting, the Nominating Committee selected 38 applicants for recommendation to the Provincial Executive to sit on committees. These recommendations were ratified at the May 31, 2023 meeting of the Provincial Executive.

As Chair of the Nominating Committee, I would like to express my gratitude to all the members of the Committee and staff.

Respectfully submitted,

Duncan Cameron

Chair Nominating Committee 2023-24