Summary of 2024 Council Elections

CTF Delegate			
Discipline Committee	(2 members)	3 year terms	
Professional Committee	(2 members)	3 year terms	
Resolutions Committee			

CTF DELEGATE (1 member – 3-year term)

• Council elects one member each year for a term of three years.

STANDING ORDER 16 - DELEGATES TO CANADIAN TEACHERS' FEDERATION

Delegates to the Canadian Teachers' Federation Annual General Meeting shall be: the President, or another CTF Director as chosen by the Provincial Executive from the Members of the provincial Executive; the Executive Director as a member of the CTF Board; and a number of other delegates defined by the Canadian Teachers' Federation who shall be elected by a plurality of votes cast by Voting Delegates at Annual Council. Delegates elected by Council shall

serve a three (3) year term and shall not serve consecutive terms. The First Vice-President or, in the absence of the First Vice-President the Second Vice-President, shall attend as an alternate.

During a presidential election year, the NSTU President-elect will be included in the delegation to CTF as an observer at the AGM. The costs incurred will be covered by the NSTU as per CTF guidelines.

NAME & LOCAL	TERM EXPIRES
Darlene Bereta, Northside-Victoria	Council 2024
Sue Larivière-Jenkins, CSANE	Council 2025
Melanie Kennedy, Halifax County	Council 2026

DISCIPLINE COMMITTEE

(2 members - 3-year terms)

Standing Order 6.

- (a) Pursuant to the Teaching Profession Act, Section 10 (1) (d), there shall be a Discipline Committee of the NSTU.
- (b) The mandate of the Committee is to consider complaints regarding Member action(s) inimical to the interests of the NSTU, which would not come before the Professional Committee.
- (c) The Discipline Committee shall consist of five (5) Members elected by Council.
- (d) Members of the Discipline Committee shall serve a three (3) year term.
- (e) No Member of the Discipline Committee shall concurrently be a Member of the Provincial Executive or a Committee of the Provincial Executive.
- (f) The Discipline Committee shall meet at least once a year for professional development purposes and as required to consider complaints.

Name & Local	Term Expires
Jiselle LeBlanc, Antigonish	Council 2024
Michelle Goreham, Shelburne County	Council 2024
Vivianne Abdallah, Dartmouth	Council 2025
Tara Arseneau, Dartmouth	Council 2026
Ben Drew, Yarmouth	Council 2026



By-Laws, Article VII

- (a) Pursuant to the Teaching Profession Act, Section 11 (1), there shall be a Professional Committee of the NSTU.
- (b) The mandate of the Committee is as described in the Teaching Profession Act.
- (c) The Professional Committee shall consist of six (6) Members elected by the Council.
- (d) Members of the Professional Committee shall serve a three (3) year term, with two (2) Members of the Committee retiring each year.
- (e) No Member of the Professional Committee shall concurrently be a Member of the Provincial Executive or a Committee of the Provincial Executive.
- (f) The Professional Committee shall meet at least once a year for professional development purposes and as required to consider complaints.

NAME & LOCAL	TERM EXPIRES
Elizabeth Thomas, Digby	Council 2024
Allie Coulter, Cumberland	Council 2024
Heather Coulter, Pictou	Council 2025
Paula Landry, Richmond	Council 2025
Kent Fraser, CSANE	Council 2026
Colleen Scott, Colchester-East Hants	Council 2026

RESOLUTIONS COMMITTEE

(2 members – 2-year terms)

Standing Order 4 (c)

- a. The Resolutions Committee shall consist of five (5) Members.
- b. Annual Council shall elect four (4) Members from amongst the Voting Delegates. Elections shall be staggered from year-to-year to allow for continuity. All such Members elected shall serve a two (2) year term.
- c. The Provincial Executive shall elect one (1) of its Members to serve as Chair of the Resolutions Committee. The Chair shall serve for a renewable one (1) year term.

Duties for the Resolutions Committee can be found in Standing Order 4 (c) and Operational Procedures 16.

Name & Local	Term Expires
Lynnette Babin, Antigonish	Council 2024
Drew Moore, Colchester-East Hants	Council 2024
Sarah Hillier, Lunenburg County	Council 2025
Jason Jennings, Halifax County	Council 2025