

Date: May 15, 2024 For Release: Immediately Contact:

Angela Murray

Media Advisory

NSTU members vote for president

(Halifax - Kjipuktuk, NS)-- An election by universal suffrage for the next president of the Nova Scotia Teachers Union is taking place today Wednesday, May 15. Voting by the 10,000 members of the NSTU is being conducted electronically. Polls opened at 6:00 a.m. and close at 8:00 p.m.

Under the Teachers' Collective Bargaining Act, all NSTU members employed on the designated voting day are eligible to vote, including members on educational or deferred salary leave, or reserve members. Substitute teachers employed on election day are also eligible to vote on voting day.

Five NSTU members are running for the two-year position as NSTU president: Peter Day, Nancie de la Chevotière, Grant Frost, Shawn Hanifen, and Mike Kelly.

The next president's two-year term will begin on August 1, 2024. The NSTU will announce the results of the vote this evening by 9:00 p.m., barring any unforeseen technical issues.

There is provision for a run-off vote on Thursday, May 29, 2024. To become president of the NSTU, a candidate must win with a majority of votes (50 per cent + 1).

-30-

For further information, or to set up an interview please contact: Mark Laventure, Cell: 902-818-5010, <u>mlaventure@staff.nstu.ca</u> or Angela Murray, Cell: 902-497-0194, <u>amurray@staff.nstu.ca</u>