

## NSTU Provincial Executive Meeting January 16 & 17, 2020 HIGHLIGHTS

Emailed, Monday, January 20, 2020

- 1. Filed the Table Officers Report;
- 2. Selected names of members to forward to the NSFL as the NSTUs nominees for NSFL Committees;
- 3. Approved Out-of-Province Grants in the amount of \$475;
- 4. Approved Education Research Grants in the amount of \$475;
- 5. Received the NSTU Group Insurance Trustees Audited Financial Statements;
- 6. Approved an amendment to Operational Procedure 13 Professional Associations c. Finances (v);
- 7. Selected Wednesday, May 20, 2020 as the voting day for the election of the NSTU President;
- 8. Selected Thursday, May 28, 2020 as the second voting day, if needed, for the election of the NSTU President;
- 9. Approved a recommendation that the Professional Association Nova Scotia Language Teachers Association / Association des enseignant(e)s de langue de la Nouvelle-Écosse be renamed the Nova Scotia Language Teachers Association;
- 10. Ratified the 2019 CSANE Local Constitution;
- 11. Processed the 2020 Policy Review on Professional Development for Council 2020: reaffirmed 1 policy; amended 6 policies; and rescinded 1 policy;
- 12. Approved a resolution be forwarded to Annual Council 2020 regarding Policy Section I Governance, Policy 1 Code of Ethics;
- 13. Approved a recommendation that the Personnel Committee develop a process to fill the Executive Director role effective January 1, 2021;
- 14. Approved a recommendation that Mark Laventure's classification be moved from Support Staff Step 8 to Professional Services Staff Step 1 effective January 1, 2020;
- 15. Approved resolutions be forwarded to Annual Council 2020 regarding:
  - By-Law Article V Regional Governance;
  - By-Law Article VI Professional Association Governance;
  - Standing Order 3 Resolutions to Council;
  - Standing Order 4 Committees of Council (c) Resolutions Committee;
  - By-Law Article III The Provincial Executive:
- 16. Forwarded a motion regarding Operational Procedure 16 Resolutions Procedures to the June 5-6, 2020 Provincial Executive meeting;
- 17. Selected Provincial Executive members to the Awards Selection Committee: Thérèse Forsythe, Jo-Leigh MacPhee and Mike Jamieson. Alternate: Peter Day